10 Bookish Facts About Me

Since this is my tenth blog post, I decided to let you know ten bookish facts about me that I probably would not be able to talk about on any other time, taking into consideration the type of posts I tend to write.

  1. I only read one book at a time. In the past I tried to read more than one book, but I ended up focusing on the one I was enjoying the most and leaving the other ones behind.
  2. Presently I don’t own more than one edition of any book. I only intend to buy other editions of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Atonement by Ian McEwan because I own and read the Portuguese translations and now want to read them in English.
  3. I can read fluently in both Portuguese (my mother tongue) and English. So, I currently don’t read translations of books originally written in English, unless I am offered the translated book. When the books are originally written in Spanish and French I read them in Portuguese, as they are all Latin languages, and therefore share more similarities.
  4. I love reading while travelling on trains. I can really get a lot of reading done without being distracted by other things.
  5. I tend to read before going to bed.
  6. After start watching booktube videos and reading book blogs, I realised that I must be a really slow reader, as I can’t seem to be able to read more than one to three books a month, depending on their number of pages.
  7. I remember always loving reading. However, I didn’t read that much from the age of 14 to 22 besides Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, books for school and university, and the odd book once in a while.
  8. The first Harry Potter book I read was the third one (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban) when I was 14, after a friend lent it to me. I liked it so much that I bought the first one to carry on reading the series. I was 21 when I read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, which was the first book I read in English in its entirety, since I couldn’t wait for the Portuguese translation to be released.
  9. I don’t mind watching a film or TV adaptation before reading the book. In fact, that have happened to me quite a few times. That was the case with some of my favourite films, TV series and books, such as Pride and Prejudice, Atonement and A Song of Ice and Fire / Game of Thrones.
  10. I don’t rate books with 5 stars very often, although I tend to like the vast majority of books that I read. I usually only do so if, after finishing the book, I get that feeling of wanting to read it all over again right away.

Tell me a bookish fact about you in the comments!

One thought on “10 Bookish Facts About Me

Leave a Reply

