Books I Want to Read Before the End of 2016

I don’t usually establish to be read lists. However, now that we are in the last quarter of the year, there are some books I really want to read before 2016 comes to an end. The list features books written by contemporary authors, some classics and Portuguese poetry.

The Dumb House by John Burnside is a book I have been wanting to read for quite a while. The story focuses on a narrator that uses his own children as subjects of an experiment to recreate the Dumb House of Persian myth. I expect this novel to be quite dark and disturbing.

To continue my endeavour to read more books by female authors I also want to read A God in Ruins. I don’t know much about this novel by Kate Atkinson, besides it being set around the time of the Second World War, which is usually a theme I am interested in reading about.

books-i-want-to-read-before-the-end-of-2016-5

Before the year is over, I expect to read four more classics. One of them is Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, whom the other four books I read by I really enjoyed and whom I haven’t read for a while. I also intend to read Dubliners by James Joyce, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and A Morgadinha dos Canaviais by Júlio Dinis. These books were all written by famous writers who I have never read before, so I am not quite sure what to expect from them.

books-i-want-to-read-before-the-end-of-2016-3

books-i-want-to-read-before-the-end-of-2016-4

A reading list would not be complete without some poetry. So, I want to read two poetry collections by two famous Portuguese poets. One of them is O Nome das Coisas by Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen, a writer that I studied more than once at school and continued reading after that. I believe this poetry collection was mainly inspired by the end of the dictatorship in Portugal in 1974. Sonetos by Florbela Espanca is the other poetry collection I intend to read soon and I expect it to be full of sad sonnets.

books-i-want-to-read-before-the-end-of-2016-2

I am currently reading Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke. This is a really long book with 1000 pages which tells the story of the return of magic to England in the 19th century. I liked what I have read so far (I am more than halfway through it) and expect to post a review about it soon.

books-i-want-to-read-before-the-end-of-2016-6jpg

Have you read any of these books? Which books do you intend to read before the year is over? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

