Book Haul – October / November 2016

Before I started this blog, back in June, I decided not to buy any more books until I finally read the ones I already got on my shelves. I managed to stick to that intention until last month, when I couldn’t resist to the temptation any longer. Then I changed the goal to not buying any more books until January and… I failed again and bought more books last week. So, the time is right to do a book haul!

These are the books I recently bought:

Contos Escolhidos by Fernando Pessoa

This is a collection of short stories by the famous Portuguese author who is, however, better-known as a poet. I have never read any of his short stories, so I am really curious to do so. Fernando Pessoa also wrote in English and, in fact, the first short story featured in this collection is called A Very Original Dinner and is accompanied by a Portuguese translation. All the other stories featured in this collection are in Portuguese, though.

Homens Imprudentemente Poéticos by Valter Hugo Mãe

This is the latest book by a Portuguese author I have never read but have only heard good things about. It is set in Japan and focus on the hostility between two neighbours, a craftsman and a potter maker. As it is a recent release, there isn’t an English translation yet. 

A Desumanização by Valter Hugo Mãe

Although I have never read anything by Valter Hugo Mãe, I bought two books written by him at the same time. This one takes place in Iceland and tells the story of a little girl who lost her twin sister.

book-haul-octnov-2016-2

Contos Exemplares by Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen

A long time has passed since I last read a short story by this Portuguese author. The last time I did so must have probably been fifteen years ago and it was a compulsory read for school. Recently I have read more of her poetry. I am not quite sure if this collection of short stories has any common theme. But I’ll let you know!

Uma Casa na Escuridão by José Luís Peixoto

I have no idea what this book is about, but I usually like Peixoto’s writing style. The way he uses short sentences produces an interesting rhythm. I couldn’t find an English translation of this particular book, but If you are interested in reading a novel by José Luís Peixoto there are translations to English of some of his other books, such as The Piano Cemetery and Blank Gaze.

A Casa, a Escuridão by José Luís Peixoto

This one is a poetry collection based on the novel Uma Casa na Escuridão by the same author. I have never read any of Peixoto’s poetry collections, but since his novels are filled with such beautiful sentences, I expect to become completely in love with his poems.    

O Castelo dos Destinos Cruzados (The Castle of Crossed Destinies) by Italo Calvino

This short story collection was offered to me when I bought the last three books above. Italo Calvino is an Italian author I have been wanting to read for quite a while so I gladly accepted the gift. From what I know, all the short stories are interlinked and were inspired by tarot cards.

book-haul-octnov-2016-3

Have you been buying any books recently? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

