Favourite Films to Watch During Christmas Time

Christmas is the perfect time to curl up on the sofa with a blanket and watch great films while eating tasty food. I’m not a big fan of films like Elf or Grinch. In fact, some of my favourite films to watch during this time of the year are usually not even set during Christmas time. I prefer the ones that either remind me of my childhood or that used to be broadcasted on TV during this time period so often that I started to associate them with Christmas.

Disney films are always a must for me during Christmas, as nothing is better to take us back to our childhood days. In Portugal, Christmas Eve is the most important day of the celebrations. Families gather to have dinner and spend time together until midnight, when the presents are open. So, films aimed at the youngest ones are usually on almost all TV channels. This is why I always watch one or two Disney films around Christmas. My favourites are The Little Mermaid and The Lion King.

Other films that scream Christmas to me are the Harry Potter ones. I’m not even sure why. Were they released during Christmas? Maybe it is because I associate magic and fantasy elements with Christmas, and they are all great to watch with the family too.

In terms of films which are really set during Christmas time, my favourite is Home Alone. Although I have watched it many times, since it’s always on TV during this time of the year, I still find it extremely funny and ridiculous at the same time without being cringeworthy.

The Nightmare Before Christmas is also a great film for this time of the year. It is usually more associated with Halloween, but at its core it really is about Christmas. Jack lives in Halloween Town, but when he accidentally opens a portal to Christmas Town he becomes fascinated with the feeling of their celebration.

I hope I gave you some new ideas about what to watch this Christmas.

Happy Holidays to you all!

2 thoughts on “Favourite Films to Watch During Christmas Time

  1. matxi_books says:

    For me my most beloved films to watch on Christmas have actually nothing to with Christmas!!haha
    I love to marathon the Harry Potter series, The Lord of the Rings and The Hobitt. I haven’t watched any this season but there’s still time!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

