Most Owned and Read Authors

Every time I read books by authors new to me and I enjoy them, I proceed to search for other books they have written to know more about their work. So, I own more than one book by many different authors. But which are the writers who are more prevalent on my shelves?

I went to count among the books that I have read and discovered that during my early teenage years I used to read many books by the same authors. Since I kept the ones I remember liking the most back then, the following list features some authors who I probably won’t be reading any more books by. On the other hand, I will continue reading other authors I am about to mention in the future, since I am still interested in their currently published or future works.

As my list of read books continues to grow, I plan to do a similar blog post every year to see how it changes. I intended to mention five authors. However, since I read the same number of books by the last two authors on the list, it features six.

most-owned-and-read-authors5

J.K. Rowling – 8 books

Harry Potter e a Pedra Filosofal (Portuguese translation of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)

Harry Potter e a Câmara dos Segredos (Portuguese translation of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets)

Harry Potter e o Prisioneiro de Azkaban (Portuguese translation of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)

Harry Potter e o Cálice de Fogo (Portuguese translation of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

Harry Potter e a Ordem de Fénix (Portuguese translation of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix)

Harry Potter e Príncipe Misterioso (Portuguese translation of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Os Contos de Beedle o Bardo (Portuguese translation of The Tales of Beedle the Bard)

most-owned-and-read-authors3

Alice Vieira – 8 books

(Alice Vieira is a children’s and Young Adult books author)

Vinte e Cinco a Sete Vozes

Os Olhos de Ana Marta

El-Rei Tadinho

Água de Verão

Viagem à Roda do Meu Nome

Lote 12 2º Frente

Um Fio de Fumo nos Confins do Mar

Paulina ao Piano

most-owned-and-read-authors7

Ana Maria Magalhães and Isabel Alçada – 7 books

(Ana Maria Magalhães and Isabel Alçada are two Portuguese authors who write mainly adventure books for children and teenagers.)

Diário Cruzado de João e Joana

Diário Secreto de Camila

Uma Aventura no Egipto

Uma Aventura na Televisão

Uma Aventura em Lisboa

Uma Aventura nas Férias da Páscoa

Uma Aventura no Ribatejo

most-owned-and-read-authors4

George R.R. Martin – 7 books

A Game of Thrones

A Clash of Kings

A Storm of Swords I: Steel and Snow

A Storm of Swords II: Blood and Gold

A Feast for Crows

A Dance with Dragons I: Dreams and Dust

A Dance with Dragons II: After the Feast

most-owned-and-read-authors6

Eça de Queirós – 6 books

(Eça de Queirós was a Portuguese author from the 19th century. You can read my author spotlight on him here.)

Contos Escolhidos

O Mistério da Estrada de Sintra (written with Ramalho Ortigão)

Os Maias

O Primo Basílio

O Crime do Padre Amaro

A Ilustre Casa de Ramires

most-owned-and-read-authors2

Maria Teresa Maia Gonzalez – 6 books

(Maria Teresa Maia Gonzalez is a Portuguese author of Young Adult books)

Estrela à Chuva

A Viagem do Bruno

Parabéns, Rita!

Poeta (às Vezes)

Dietas e Borbulhas

A Lua de Joana

Leave a Reply

