Neglected Books on My Shelves

Before choosing which book I was going to read next after finishing the last one, I had a look at my shelves and realised that there were some books there that I had bought a really long time ago and that remained unread. These are the three books which I believe have been neglected for the longest time.

The Ladies’ Paradise by Émile Zola

I really can’t remember specifically when I bought the Portuguese translation of this book, but it was at a time when I wanted to read more books by French authors. However, at the beginning of last year I finished Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert and wasn’t that impressed. So, my desire to read French classics waned a bit.

The Ladies Paradise recounts the rise of the modern department store in late nineteenth-century Paris. The store is a symbol of capitalism, of the modern city, and of the bourgeois family: it is emblematic of changes in consumer culture and the changes in sexual attitudes and class relations taking place at the end of the century.”

The Black Tulip by Alexandre Dumas

Again, I’m not sure when I bought this, but it was for the same reason as The Ladies’ Paradise. As this is much shorter than the previous one, I will probably read it first, maybe even this year.

“Cornelius von Baerle, a respectable tulip-grower, lives only to cultivate the elusive black tulip and win a magnificent prize for its creation. But after his powerful godfather is assassinated, the unwitting Cornelius becomes caught up in deadly political intrigue and is falsely accused of high treason by a bitter rival. Condemned to life imprisonment, his only comfort is Rosa, the jailer’s beautiful daughter, and together they concoct a plan to grow the black tulip in secret.”

The Road to Wigan Pier by George Orwell

This book was an offer by a bookshop probably two years ago after I spent a certain amount of money. As I haven’t read many non-fiction books lately, it ended up neglected. But I intend to read it this year during non-fiction November.

“A searing account of George Orwell’s experiences of working-class life in the bleak industrial heartlands of Yorkshire and Lancashire, The Road to Wigan Pier is a brilliant and bitter polemic that has lost none of its political impact over time. His graphically unforgettable descriptions of social injustice, slum housing, mining conditions, squalor, hunger and growing unemployment are written with unblinking honesty, fury and great humanity.”

Do you have any neglected books on your shelves? Tell me in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Neglected Books on My Shelves

  1. Tyler Wright says:

    Have you considered reading nonfiction?

    I really enjoy nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

