Characters Who Could Be Protagonists in New Books

After choosing some of my favourite supporting characters, I started to think about how some of them could be protagonists in new books. Sometimes you just have that desire to know more about a specific character even if the book isn’t focusing on her or his story. Some of the characters I am about to mention may not be my favourites, but I think they have potential to take centre stage in a new or parallel story.

 

Johannes Brandt – The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist was my favourite book among the ones I read last year, I wouldn’t particularly change anything about it. But I would definitely read a different book just about Johannes Brandt. He is a complex character, dealing with a difficult situation. Knowing more about him in The Miniaturist wouldn’t have worked, as the mystery surrounding him is an essential part of the book at first and the story is told from Petronella’s point of view.

 

Henry Tilney – Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

The idea for this post arose from Henry Tilney being one of my favourite supporting characters. In fact, he is my favourite character in Northanger Abbey thanks to his sarcastic remarks. I would love to know what he was up to before meeting Catherine Morland, the heroine of the novel.

 

Miranda Carroll – Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

When I started reading Station Eleven I thought Miranda Carroll was going to be the main character of this post-apocalyptic novel, since her back story is quite gripping and thought-provoking. However, in my opinion other characters assumed the role of protagonists. I really would like to know more details about what happened to her and how she dealt with the events that took place.

 

Irene – Vinte e Zinco by Mia Couto

Vinte e Zinco is quite a short book that features magnificent characters. Irene is the aunt of the main character, Lourenço, who is an inspector of the Political Police in Mozambique. She stands out from her family because she is not afraid to mingle with the natives and voices feminist views. I was eager to know more about her after finishing the book.

 

Are there any characters you would like to be protagonists in new books? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

