Rereading: Yes or No?

To reread or not to reread? That’s the question which has been on my mind lately. I don’t remember rereading a book since my childhood, when I could read a story beautifully illustrated two times in a row. As times went by I completely lost that habit. I don’t even remember rereading any of the Harry Potter books in my youth as many people seem to have done.

One of the reasons why I don’t reread is that there are so many books on my wish list which I’ve never read that I feel like I would be ‘wasting’ my time by reading stories I already know, instead of discovering new characters and worlds. I’m also afraid to reread books I loved, since I may not like them as much as before, and that feeling we get when we discover a new gem may disappear. Though, I sometimes pick some of my favourite books just to read a few lines at random.

However, lately I’ve been thinking about rereading some books I first read a long time ago and I remember enjoying, but that I’ve completely forgotten what the plot is about or the characters are like. Some weeks ago, while rearranging my shelves, I stumbled upon some of those books:  The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, The Way to Paradise by Mario Vargas Llosa, City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende and The New Life by Orhan Pamuk.

But then I look at both my growing pile of unread books and at my wish list and the desire to get reacquainted with old books starts to vanish. Maybe one day nothing on my TBR pile will catch my eye and I’ll gravitate towards an already read book. The time has just not yet come.

Do you usually reread books? Tell me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Rereading: Yes or No?

  1. ashleighmuses says:

    I went through about 2 years of not picking up a reread unless it was for a book club or something similar (or Harry Potter, which I do have a tendency to revisit every 12-18 months).

    In the past few months I’ve enjoyed 4 rereads and I feel zero guilt of leaving those unread books on my shelves for 1 book more, and so much joy in revisiting those old favourites and finding new things to love in them.

    I’ve been more inclined to pick up rereads lately because Goodreads added the ‘read more than once’ function enabling you to mark more than one read on a book – which is a godsend for stats nerds like me who hates their yearly tally to then be off!

    As I said, it’s not something I’ve done for a long time but it’s certainly not something I regret doing at all. There’s something special about revisiting a book and seeing new things in it you didn’t see before!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Annabel (gaskella) says:

    I’ve found that re-reading books can be hit or miss – a book you found hilarious in your 20s can be desperately unfunny in your 40s for instance. But maturity and experience bring new perspectives and the best more literary books definitely reveal more when re-read. Just don’t do it too soon after reading the first time – leave some years in between. I don’t re-read more than a couple of books each year, but if they’re the right books, it’s a pleasure. If they’re the wrong books, it’s a chore and I stop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

