Mid-Year Resolutions’ Evaluation

It feels like 2017 just started some weeks ago, but we’re already halfway through the year. So, this felt like a good time to evaluate if I am on track to achieve the goals I set for the year regarding both my reading and the blog.

One of the goals I established was to try to read graphic novels again. I was never much of fan, not even as a child, but some of the illustrations have been catching my eye recently. So far, I’ve only read one, The Black Project by Gareth Brookes, and there were both things that I liked and disliked about it. I plan to read The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg this summer.

Other genre I also don’t read that much is non-fiction, at least since I’ve finished my master’s degree. So, I was hoping to read more non-fiction books this year. I haven’t done so yet, but I plan to read a couple in November. I currently have The Morning They Came for Us: Dispatches from Syria by Janine di Giovanni and The Road to Wigan Pier by George Orwell on my TBR pile.

On the other hand, according to plan, I have been reading more short stories than usual. So far, I have read four short story collections and plan to read a couple more until the end of the year. I still prefer novels, but I’ve encountered some really engaging short stories among the collections that I’ve read.

Another of my goals was to read 25 books until the end of the year. This may seem like a small number, but I’m not a fast reader and I also spend some of my free time watching TV and films. I’ve currently read 16 books, so I’m expecting to easily reach and maybe overpass my goal until the end of the year. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever read that many books in a year. Having the blog is definitely helping me to read more.

My last goal was to publish twice a week on the blog. All was going according to plan until this month, when I missed one Friday. Nevertheless, I’m doing quite well in comparison with last year, when I started by only posting once in a while.

By the end of the year I expect to have only failed the last of my resolutions. What about you? Is your reading year going according to plan? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

