20 Books of Summer 2024 (But More Like 10)

After taking part in 20 Books of Summer, hosted by Cathy from 746books, for the first time in 2022, I said that I wouldn’t participate again, because I had put myself under too much stress (this was entirely my fault as Cathy is the most laid-back host ever). However, the moment I started seeing other bloggers sharing their reading lists, I couldn’t help but want to take part again as well. 

The challenge is to read 20 books (or 15, or 10) during the three months of summer, being a great opportunity to take a good number of books off your TBR. Since, for some years now, I’ve mostly only been buying books as I read them, the number of unread books on my shelves is low. Fear not! I have around 300 books on a wish list. 

For my list of books to read from 1 June to 1 September, I picked two unread novels from the ones I already own, plus eight other books that have been on my wish list for at least more than six months. Yes, this time I’m only committing to read 10 (relatively short) books, in order to increase my chance of success! They are:

  1. The Ice Palace by Tarjei Vesaas
  2. The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan
  3. Objeto Quase by José Saramago
  4. Mrs Caliban by Rachel Ingalls
  5. Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski
  6. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson
  7. Foster by Claire Keegan
  8. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  9. The Women of Troy by Pat Barker
  10. Terra Sonâmbula (Sleepwalking Land) by Mia Couto

I cannot wait to start reading these books! The plan is to post a review almost every week, starting on the second Wednesday of June. You can also follow my reading journey on Instagram, as I share my immediate thoughts on the books I’m reading in stories format on Saturdays. 

Are you taking part in 20 Books of Summer this year? How many books do you plan to read? Tell me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “20 Books of Summer 2024 (But More Like 10)

  1. Huilahi says:

    Great list of books. I don’t find the time to read books nowadays, but these novels do sound interesting to me. Agatha Christie’s “And Then There Were None” definitely stands out to me. Christie was a phenomenal author that built a lasting legacy through telling murder mystery stories. I haven’t read any of her books, but really enjoyed the recent film adaptations. For instance, “A Haunting in Venice” is an astonishing adaptation of the classic novel by Agatha Christie. A haunting murder mystery set in Venice, it celebrates the renowned author’s legacy. If you’re a fan of Christie’s books, I definitely recommend checking out this film adaptation. Here’s why I loved it:

    “A Haunting in Venice” (2023)- Movie Review

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.