Book Haul – May 2017

Last month I said that I usually try to keep the number of unread books on my shelves to a minimum. But… I ended up buying a few more books this month and am still wondering where I’m going to put them, as my shelves are full. Apparently, I’m struggling to keep my book buying urges under control!

I bought seven books this month, including fiction, non-fiction, classics and a graphic novel.

 

The Morning They Came for Us: Dispatches from Syria by Janine di Giovanni

Typically, I don’t tend to read non-fiction books, but I decided to do so this year. I bought The Morning They Came for Us because it focuses on an issue I’m quite interested in, the war in Syria, but that I don’t feel I know enough about in order to fully understand what is happening.

 

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg

Other of my resolutions for 2017 was to read some graphic novels. I’ve only heard amazing things about The Encyclopedia of Early Earth, so I decided to give it a go. It says on the back that it focuses on the adventures of one lonely storyteller, who experiences Gods, monsters, mad kings and love.

 

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was by Sjón

I’ve been meaning to read something by Sjón for a really long time, but didn’t have any of his books on my shelves. Moonstone tells the story of “a misfit in a place where life and death, reality and imagination, secrets and revelations jostle for dominance”.

The Power by Naomi Alderman

The premise of this book really caught my attention. All over the world women discover they can electrocute people with their hands. What consequences will this have in society? I’m currently reading The Power and, so far, am quite enjoying it.

 

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

Mansfield Park is the only of the main novels by Jane Austen that I haven’t read yet. Fanny Price, the heroine of the story, is invited to live with her rich relatives so she can be properly brought up. But they never let her forget her position, her only ally being her cousin Edmund.

 

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan  

Lady Trent is a preeminent dragon naturalist, but before she achieved that status she “was a bookish young woman whose passion for learning defied the stifling conventions of her day”. I haven’t read a fantasy book in a while and am quite excited to know if this will meet the high expectations I have for it.

 

Dracula by Bram Stoker

This will probably be my Halloween read of this year. I don’t think I have to say what the plot of the book is about, because everyone must have either heard of Dracula or seen one of the many adaptations. Dracula is a recurrent character in many horror films, but I haven’t read the book yet. It’s more than time to change that.

Have you read any of these books? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

